Skip to Content

North Island Windsurfing Slalom Cup 2014/2015 results

Congratulations to Laurence Carey (NZL-252) for winning the North Island Cup Series despite having to sit out the final round due to injury. Tim Wood , Harry Reed, Luke Watson and Darren Nicholas rounded out the top five positions in the Gold fleet. In the Silver fleet Alex Stroh took first with Rohan Cooke, Bernard carey, John Davies and Ropata Marshall completing the set.

The Series was run over 3 events with the best results from 2 events counting towards the final result. The intention was to encourage every sailor to try to attend at least 2 events, their 'home' (or nearest in some cases) event plus one other event that was accessible. This avoided the necessity to travel (say) between Auckland and Wellington - although a number of Auckland sailors did not see this as a major barrier going by the turnout at the recent slalom event in Eastbourne.

Wellington and Tauranga turned on the appointed wind and had good turnouts, the Auckland event had a couple of false starts but eventually went ahead with (by all accounts) more than enough wind in the end.

There are already suggestions for the way this series can be improved, more events around the North Island, and more classes to encourage more entries - so heads up for next seasons calendar.

This compliments the South Island Series shared between Dunedin and Christchurch - so look forward to the meeting of the two islands in Christchurch at the National Slalom event in February!

Full results

2014-12-04_14_26_41-north_island_gold_fleet_results_2014.pdf_-_adobe_reader.jpg25.48 KB
2014-12-04_14_27_28-north_island_silver_fleet_results_2014.pdf_-_adobe_reader.jpg19.33 KB

| DeepFried.TV - forums - news | - webcams - winds | wiNZurf - locations - archive |