Skip to Content

The 2005 Auckland Formula Championships – Event Report

The second annual Auckland Formula Championships were held over the weekend of Saturday 8th & Sunday 9th January.Despite a relatively uninspiring weather forecast, Auckland finally turned on some ‘summer’ weather (ie. sun!) in combination with a great WSW breeze of between 12 & 22 knots. Given the conditions & the tide, Kohi beach was chosen as the race venue for a medium length windward-leeward course.

After a quick briefing that
saw a raft of new faces
join ing the Race Series for the first time – which was fantastic to see – racing got underway at 1345 with two races back to back. Carrying on from 2004, Jon Squires comfortably took out race one followed by Jean Paul Tobin and, fresh out of retirement (again) was Kevin Trotter in third. For race 2, Luke Watson
took line honours followed by Ian Young in second , Kevin Trotter in third , Jared Scollay in fourth and David Robertson in fifth.

Following a short break for lunch, it was back on the water to complete race 3 & 4. Both races featured close competition throughout the fleet, with most guys finding
thems elves racing someone of similar speed and ability
. Race three again saw Jon Squires take the win, followed by the North Sails team – Jared Scollay in second
, Luke Watson in third
& Roger Twedell in fourth. Race 4 was not ent irely dissimilar - Squires
took out first followed by Watson
in second, Jean-Paul Tobin in third
and David Robertson in four th.
Particularly encouraging though was seeing entries in the junior class for the first time this season (which was ultimately won by Hayley Thom) as well as the Race Series’ first international competitor, Andres Karmy ( from Chile).

There was time left for one more race – race
5 was held in a slowly decreasing breeze, and was taken out by Jean Paul Tobin followed by Ian Young

Sunday, scheduled as day two of the event, did not deliver any sort of a sailable breeze hence meaning that the results from day one would determine the final standings for the 2005 Auckland Formula Championships. Results were as follows: ( please refer to attached spreadsheet for a complete set of
Round 6 results. Note also
the file with overall results for the 2004 Auckland Race Series so
far... )

Overall Formula Championship Results :
Jonathan Squires (Neil Pryde, Mistral Devil III)
Luke Watson (North Sails, Mistral Devil III)
Ian Young (Neil Pryde, Mistral Devil I)

Ian Young (Neil Pryde, Mistral Devil I)
Roger Twedell (North Sails, Mikes Lab)
Anthony Katavich (Gaastra, Mistral Devil III)

Hayley Thom
2nd Tom Howitt
Sam Thom

Finally, thanks not only to the sponsors of the Auckland Race Series who make this circus possible , but also to Roscoe Smith & Alan Lichtwark for setting a great course, manning the boat and running the starts. Without these guys to help the Race Series would be nothing more than an idea…

| DeepFried.TV - forums - news | - webcams - winds | wiNZurf - locations - archive |