Skip to Content

Severne NZ Windsurfing Slalom Nationals and Oceanic Slalom Championships final results

Dunedin's Gareth Wood held a clear six-point advantage over James Dinnis (Taranaki) and Rowan Law (Perth), to claim the national title, but as Wood was not racing the Formula 42 board, he did not qualify for the Oceania title. That title went to Law, from Paul Vliestra (Dunedin), second, and Terry Beentjes (Christchurch), third.

In the women's event, Annie Crombie (Christchurch) and Sue Bradley (Queenstown) were tied on 16.75 points each at the finish of competition on Thursday and the titles were decided by count back, and neither could be separated until Crombie's final ride on Thursday was taken into account, where she gained a .07 advantage over Bradley, and won her fourth national windsurfing slalom title.

Lawrence Carey (Auckland) at just 16 years of age, won a highly competitive under-20 section, holding out Dan Meechan (Dunedin, 19), who finished second and Tom McGregor (Christchurch, 15) and Harry Reed (Auckland, 19), who tied for third.

Silver Fleet: George Cooper, David Richards and Roger Smith.

full story -


| DeepFried.TV - forums - news | - webcams - winds | wiNZurf - locations - archive |